College, Sports, and Clockwork Orange

Transitioning between high school and college has taught me a lot of things. For starters, procrastinating is NOT going to work out at all. Secondly, time management will 100% be my best friend, especially when I prioritize assignments on things like due dates and importance. And lastly, to not overthink all my problems at once, to face them all one at a time in a calm manner.

The transition hasn’t been as hard as I though it would be. I want to say taking almost all honors and some AP’s all while paying softball in high school helped prepare me for what college should feel like. I feel like I’ve been doing a really good job in doing my work, playing a sport and keeping good grades so far. I’ve also been able to keep up with all  my readings, especially on my almost 2 hour train rides home each day.

Related image

I am currently rereading “A Clockwork Orange” by  Anthony Burgess and I’m actually enjoying it more a second time like I did with the last book I read. I read it the first time last June during my senior year of high school and although this book isn’t anything of the ordinary, I feel like that’s what I like most about it. So far, I’m on page 92 out of 192 and a quote that has stuck with me is when the main character, Alexander says,” What does God want? Does God want goodness or the choice of goodness? Is a man who chooses the bad perhaps in some way better than a man who has the good imposed upon him?” It makes you think about life and all the choices we have in it. I had to read this quote a couple times to even begin to understand it and even then i still fully don’t.

I try to keep my readings close to something that I can connect to because I feel like then I can actually make myself feel apart of the story and relate to the main character in ways. This time I really can’t because Alexander is different from all the characters in the books I’ve read. From what I can tell so far he”s so disconnected from the world that he’s basically a psychopath. I’m hoping by then end of the reading, it ends better than what I have envisioned, but only time will tell!

398

Leave a Reply

